AMP has appointed Kathleen Bailey-Lord and Anna Leibel as independent non-executive directors to the board.

In a media release, AMP said the two appointments bring significant skills and experience in digital transformation, technology and financial services to the board, relevant to building amp’s banking and wealth management businesses in Australia and New Zealand.

Kate McKenzie will step down from her role as a non-executive director, effective 31 December 2023, concluding her roles on both the AMP and AMP bank boards after three years of service.

McKenzie, who was appointed in November 2020, will step down to focus on her roles as chair of NBN Co, interim chair of Healius and non-executive director on the Stockland Corporation board.

Bailey-Lord is chair of Janison Education Group and non-executive director of Alinta Energy, Datacom Group Ltd and St Vincents Health Australia. She previously served on the boards of Bank of Queensland, Monash College, Melbourne Water Corporation, QBE Insurance (Australia Pacific Operations), Australian Government Solicitor and Trinity College, University of Melbourne.

She was previously a senior executive at ANZ, PMP, Phillips Fox Lawyers (now DLA Piper), IBM Australia and New Zealand and CEO at Fordham Group.

Bailey-Lord has been appointed to the remuneration committee on the AMP board and will hold a seat on the AMP bank board.

Leibel currently serves as a non-executive director at Secure Electronic Registries Victoria and Alfred Health, and she has previously served on the board of Ambulance Victoria. Her expertise includes guiding organisations on service delivery, managing complex digital assets and achieving productivity growth through digital transformation.

In her executive roles as chief delivery and information officer and chief information officer at Uni Super, Anna oversaw member operations, technology, and the execution of strategic & compliance initiatives. She has also held senior executive roles with PwC and Telstra.

Leibel will be a member of the risk and compliance committee on both the AMP and AMP Bank boards.