The Financial Planning Association (FPA) has announced the New South Wales state winners of its 2012 Best Practice Awards. Held at the Hilton Hotel on Friday, the awards acknowledge FPA members for the positive contribution they make to the profession throughout the year.

Winners and runners-up were chosen from a large number of submissions received throughout the nomination period.

William Johns of Fiducian Financial Services in Sydney was awarded the FPA CFP Professional Best Practice Award with his submission also achieving a national highly commended designation. In addition to this accolade, PortfolioConstruction Forum presented Johns with the choice of complimentary attendance to their Market Summit or Conference in 2013.

Joanne Stephens of Roan Financial in Orange was awarded the FPA Financial Planner AFP Best Practice Award while Anthony Tanti of Tanti Financial Services of Emu Plains was awarded the Future2 Community Service Best Practice Award.

This award goes to a planner who has, in a pro bono or public service capacity, made an outstanding contribution to improving the circumstances of the most socially excluded or financially disadvantaged members of the community.

“All of the finalists in the AFP and CFP professional categories were impressive financial planners who demonstrated the highest professional standards,” said Lisa Weissel, who was on the judging panel.

“And the contributions of the Future2 nominees to the wider community made a real difference to the lives of some of the most disadvantaged members of our society.”

Below is a full list of NSW Best Practice Award state winners, runners-up and Honorary Award winners:

FPA CFP Professional Best Practice Award

  • NSW State Winner and National Highly Commended: William Johns CFP, Fiducian Financial Services, Sydney
  • NSW State Runner-up and National Highly Commended: Timothy Deamer CFP, Crosbie Warren Sinclair, Warabrook

FPA Financial Planner AFP Best Practice Award

  • NSW State Winner: Joanne Stephens AFP, Roan Financial, Orange
  • NSW State Runner-up: Andrew Frith AFP, Leenane Templeton Wealth Management, Newcastle

Future2 Community Service Best Practice Award

  • NSW State Winner: Anthony Tanti CFP, Tanti Financial Services, Emu Plains
  • NSW State Runner-up: Peter Roan CFP, Roan Financial, Orange

The NSW winner of the FPA Distinguished Service Award was Debbie Gampe AFP of SeaChange Financial, Port Macquarie.