Australian Retirement Trust has appointed former APRA deputy chair Helen Rowell and chancellor of Macquarie University Martin Parkinson as independent directors to its board. 

Rowell spent two decades at APRA, including ten years as an executive board member and deputy chair across both superannuation and insurance.  

Parkinson was previously Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Secretary to the Australian Treasury and inaugural Secretary of the Department of Climate Change. He also served on the board of the Reserve Bank of Australia. 

These appointments replace vacancies from Georgina Williams and Michael Traill, who both decided not to re-nominate as directors at the end of their terms. 

Both new appointments will be effective early next month. Mark Burgess, appointed to the board of ART last year, has also been appointed chair of the ART investment committee.