AFA announces new board



October 12, 2014

The Association of Financial Advisers (AFA) announced its new Board of Directors (the Board) at the AFA National Adviser Conference in Cairns today, with former AFA Treasurer, Deborah Kent, appointed National President for a two-year term.

Ms Kent said the incoming Board is committed to the AFA Strategic Plan, and each member brings a range of different experiences and talents to the table.

“This Board comes to the helm at an incredibly challenging and exciting time for the advice profession,” she said. “All directors have clearly expressed their desire for the AFA to continue living up to our reputation as the association of choice for financial advisers.”

Every director on the AFA Board is required to be a practising financial adviser. “This contributes to the strong pro-advice advocacy the AFA provides on behalf of our members and their clients. It’s a strong, energetic team,” she said.

Ms Kent is also chair of the AFA Inspire initiative and was appointed to the role of AFA Treasurer earlier year from the role of NSW State Director. Ms Kent has owned her financial planning practice, Integra Financial Services, for over 18 years.

AFA CEO Brad Fox acknowledged the attributes Ms Kent brings to the role. “Deb has already made a significant contribution to the AFA and is well-equipped to lead the Association,” Mr Fox said. “She brings experience, enthusiasm and candour to what is a very demanding role.”

Mr Fox recognised the considerable achievements of outgoing board members, including Michael Nowak’s contribution as National President over the last two years.

“Michael’s contribution to the AFA in his time as National President has been instrumental to our overall vision for the future of financial advice,” he said. “He and his Board worked tirelessly to provoke new thinking and ideas to help the AFA grow, to develop professionalism in advice and to represent our members and their clients with authentic leadership and conviction in what has been a very challenging two years for financial advice.”

The AFA has welcomed three new Board members for a two-year term including 2013 AFA Adviser of the Year Jenny Brown to the role of Vice President, 2008 AFA Rising Star winner Chris Browne as Victorian State Director and James Ford as WA State Director. Former Victorian State Director Steve Crawford was elected to the role of Treasurer.

The 2014-2016 AFA Board 

Executive Directors

  • President – Deborah Kent
  • Vice President – Jenny Brown
  • Treasurer – Steve Crawford

State Directors

  • NSW– Jeff Thurecht
  • VIC– Chris Browne
  • QLD– Dianne Charman
  • SA– David Slovenic
  • WA– James Ford
  • TAS– Matthew Hawkins

Company Secretary – Brad Fox

Cut & Paste conveys information received directly from the organisations concerned. Statements and releases published here have been selected for their relevance to the financial planning profession. They are generally unedited, and the views expressed do not necessarily reflect those of Professional Planner.

Have your say

Will most financial planning services be automated in 10 years?
Vote Now